Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Dayna
Helper V
Helper V

Assistance with Matrix Table to show dimension related to one value

Hello All,

Apologies in advance for my ignorance, I'm fairly new to PowerBI (experienced with QlikView) and struggling to achieve certain things.

My dataset looks like this:

Product Table (i.e. "Blue Jeans")

Product Table links to routings (i.e. Method One, Method Two)

Routings links to RoutingComponents (i.e. Method one has a list of IDs, Method two has a different list of IDs)

RoutingComponents links to Items (i.e. the ingredients listed in the routing components, i.e. Material)

Items links to sub tables with detail about the component (i.e. Material is made of Cotton)

Example data would look like:

Product Code | Status | Description     | Material 1 | Material 2 | Material 3 | Material 4 

RS2021X01    | Active  | Testing Desc   | 305151     | 4151551    | 5841515   | 7051

^^ I've achieved the above by using a Matrix Table, most of my columns are done as rows, then I have one column which is component type, with the value of the component code.

What I want is something like this:

Product Code | Status | Description     | Material 1 | Material 1 Desc | Material 2 | Material 2 Location | etc... 

RS2021X01    | Active  | Testing Desc   | 305151     | Cotton               |   4151551 | London

The supporting value for each material is specific only to that material, i.e. Material 1 has a description in a supporting table, whereas Material 2 doesn't. It has a different table with values that I want to display.

If I add the extra value to my matrix table as a value, then it shows the value correctly, but a blank value for all the columns it doesn't relate to.