Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Cmcmahan
Resident Rockstar
Resident Rockstar

ArcGIS Map Help

So this is my first time trying to visualize location data with Power BI.  I'm using the basic ArcGIS Maps visual, but if somebody has experience with another map visual that would suit my needs, that'd be great.

So my requirement is to essentially re-make this map visual, but interactive with Drillthrough capability.  Now the trick is to get as close to the spirit of the original as I can.StateMapToCopy.PNG

The data comes in 2 categories, with subcategories below that. 

Each row of my data table is one of the following:

• A state with a null/medium/high style subcategory.  This is indicated by a grey/beige/orange fill on each state.
  • A city with a separate null/low/high subcategory (yellow/green coloration of dots), with the possiblity of having another True/False field that indicates whether to use black. 
    • Yellow/Green subcategories are mutually exclusive to each other. Black can happen in the case of either of those categories as well as when that field is null (which is how you get pure black points)

I've played with the data some, and have the ability to either keep it in all in one table and add flag fields, or split it into multiple tables: one for State locations, one for City locations, and possibly a third for all the info that indicates a black location.  I've been able to create individual map visuals for each of the 3 location types (Beige/Orange States, Yellow/Green Cities, & Black Cities).  But I would very much like to combine it all into one map like above.  Any tips?

Bonus points if you can help me indicate the 7 regions for the states, either through a thicker boundary or actually splitting the states apart like in the example.

2 REPLIES 2
Cmcmahan