Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

reinholz
Frequent Visitor

Applying a filter to IF function (DAX related question)

Hi,

I'm fairly new to Power BI and the use of DAX. That's why I'm not sure if I'm doing something fundamentally wrong or if I just didn't find the right solution yet. 

Here is my problem:

I have a dataset listing all the changes of the stage of sales opportunities.

It has columns for "Opportunity Name", "Field/Event", "Old Value", "New Value", "Edit Date" and "Amount". It looks like this:

Screen Shot 2016-06-28 at 15.03.21.png

What I now want to do is to add two columns. One should show the Month & Year of the old stage and one should show the Month & Year of the new stage. This is needed to see if the change in stage happend within one month or in the next month.

It should then look like this:

Screen Shot 2016-06-28 at 15.16.42.png

In this example the opportunity "Company A - 9 Months service" went through two stages in 06/16 and then changed to stage "closed" in 07/16. Those two columns are exactly what I need, but I just can't figure out a way how to get there. The "New Stage Month" column obviously is easy to do, but the "Old Stage Month" so far isn't.

This is how far I got:

1. I added a calculated column that formats the "edit date" to a number that is "YYYY0MM". (eg. 201606)

2. I used the formatted "edit date" number to apply a RANKX function filtered by "Opportunity Name".

That way I was able to get a rank for each row, on the opportunity level. In the example above that would mean that the first two entries for Company A have the rank 1 and the third entry has the rank 2 (since the first two are in 06/16 and the third is in 07/16).