Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

wsspglobal
Helper I
Helper I

Apply same calculation to a subset of data in the same column

Hi I have a scenario where I have my data in the same column (unpivoted), but the data are labeled as different items, in consecutive years. I want to calculate the growth rate of each year by item all at once. Is it possible?

I created a dummy table as an example:

Dummy table.JPG

I want to create a 5th column that calculates the % change from one year to the next for GDP and Population seperately. Note that I unpivoted the original data. I'm still a Power BI beginner, so I am not sure if after unpivoting the data, I cannot call the 'Item' and/or 'Amount' column in a measure or a new column. 

My end goal is to present visual charts the % change with slicers of geography, year, and item.

Please help! Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Thanks for that.

I created 2 columns.

One gets the previous year's value for the same Item and Geography

Previous Val = VAR _Item = Table1[Item]
              VAR _Year = Table1[Year]
              VAR _Geog = Table1[Geography]
RETURN
    CALCULATE(SUM(Table1[Amount]), 
        FILTER(Table1,
            Table1[Item] = _Item && 
            Table1[Geography] = _Geog &&
            Table1[Year] = _Year - 1))

The next shows the value as a percentage (Format this as a percentage)

%age = if (NOT ISBLANK(Table1[Previous Val]), (Table1[Amount] - Table1[Previous Val]) / Table1[Previous Val], 0)

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Cmcmahan
Resident Rockstar
Resident Rockstar

Thanks for posting your data in a copy/pastable format! That makes it much easier for us to play with your data