Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

PetyrBaelish
Resolver III
Resolver III

Anonymise data - maintian uniqueness; across multiple tables - in MDX

I'm trying to attempt something in MDX (of which I have little experience) that anonymises data in a field - but that field appears in multiple tables and is used as a relationship, as per description below:

Student Table

Student ID --- Disbaility

David -  - - - - - Yes

Anthony - - - - No

Student Views

Student ID -- Lecture - - Minutes

David - - - - -  Lecture 1 - 5

David - - - - -  Lecture 2 - 7

Anthony - - - - -  Lecture 1 - 3

Anthony - - - - -  Lecture 2 - 8

I want the Student ID "Anthony", "David" to be replaced by something anonymous. I began by, in Edit Queries, on the Student table (I duplicated it into an "anonymous" version of the table first), using an Index to create a new column concatenating the word "Student" with the Index number so David becomes Student1, Anthony becomes Student2. But I have no idea how I can reflect this in the Student Views table (so David becomes Student1 and Anthony becomes Student2).

I have included a sample file below which is as per I've described. This is dummy data - the real data contians 1000's of students. The file below shows  what I've described above, but essentially I want my data above to look like this (in the 'anonymous' tables which are duplicates of the originals):

Student Table

Student ID --- Disbaility

Student1 -  - - - - - Yes

Student2 - - - - No

Student Views

Student ID -- Lecture - - Minutes

Student1 - - - - -  Lecture 1 - 5

Student1 - - - - -  Lecture 2 - 7

Student2 - - - - -  Lecture 1 - 3

Student2 - - - - -  Lecture 2 - 8

https://www.dropbox.com/s/wm6yadukdi2xxgb/Aononymous.pbix?dl=0

Thanks.

2 REPLIES 2
v-eachen-msft
Community Support
Community Support