Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Chava1881
Helper II
Helper II

Aggregation measure - is locking an aggretation level an option?

Hello, 

I am new to my company and I was given the task to create a report with Forecast Error and MAPE %, this calculation must be at the category level. Formulas are below for a better understanding of the issue:

FCST ERROR: abs(Orders-FCST)

MAPE %: Sum of error/Orders

Issue: My measure calculates each individual category perfectly; however, as data aggregates, the error gets reduced because it is going up in the hierarchy, for example:

if I want to see the World Wide, the measure uses the total FCST and Total Orders to make both calculations, hence, the error is reduced significantly when comparing vs the category breakdown, as I go up in the hierarchy, the less error there is. that's why I was wondering if a measure can be tied to a column (Category column in this case), so when the number is rolled up to World Wide the error and MAPE are tied to the sum of Forecast, Orders, and forecast error.

The reason I don't use a calculated column for the error is that it locks the error at the sub-region level so when you sum the error, it increases and pushes the MAPE to higher numbers. 

See samples of what I want to achieve below and what I am getting.

What I need to achieve: 

Chava1881_0-1638997517768.png

What I get:

Blue: Error calculated by calculated column then MAPE using a measure with this calculated column

Green: MEASURE calculating everything. 

Chava1881_1-1638996199694.png

Chava1881_2-1638996329810.png

Chava1881_3-1638996501792.png

Green Measure below:

MAPE_Agg_Measure = 
VAR TOTAL_FCST = CALCULATE(
                            SUM('Aggregated-Data'[Forecast])
)

VAR TOTAL_ORDERS_RSD = Calculate(