Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Aggregating quantities into multiple columns by date

Hi,

I am new to Power BI and have been struggling with this issue for days, any help would be appreciated

I have packing list information which I want to sort out into weekly buckets so I can model forward inventory positions. Each packing list can have the same item on it multiple times and I can have multiple shipments, all with different available dates. What I have tried works fine as long as I don't have more than 1 shipment with the same item on it, if that is the case I either get the total quantity on the water all in week 1, instead of over the multiple weeks, no shipment information at all or multiple lines based on teh available dates

I have a measure which calculates how many days from today is the shipment Available Date

DaysDif = DATEDIFF(TODAY(),SELECTEDVALUE(PackList3[Avail Date]),DAY)

and have tried the following measures with SUM(), SUMX() and also tried using CALCULATE() with no joy

PO 07 = IF([DaysDif]<=7,SUMX(PackList3,PackList3[PKL_Qty]),BLANK())
PO 14 = IF(AND([DaysDif]>7,[DaysDif]<=14),SUMX(PackList3,PackList3[PKL_Qty]),BLANK())
PO 21 = IF(AND([DaysDif]>14,[DaysDif]<=21),SUMX(PackList3,PackList3[PKL_Qty]),BLANK())

etc

Thanks

Don

Hi All, I have solved the problem

In query editor, I added a new custom column 'DaysDif" and calculated the days differnce between the available date and today using 

Duration.Days([Avail Date]-DateTime.FixedLocalNow())

I have then used CALCULATE()

PO 07 = CALCULATE(SUM(PackList3[PKL_Qty]),PackList3[DaysDif]<=7)
PO 14 = CALCULATE(SUM(PackList3[PKL_Qty]),AND(PackList3[DaysDif]>7,PackList3[DaysDif]<=14))
PO 21 = CALCULATE(SUM(PackList3[PKL_Qty]),AND(PackList3[DaysDif]>14,PackList3[DaysDif]<=21))