Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Aggregate: Get value that occurs most often

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to Power BI and I am now trying to aggregate a table where there is a text column with different entries within a group and I want to get the entry that occurs most often (i'll give an example below). I've been looking on the internet but can't find the proper way to do it but I can't find the thing that I'm looking for (tho I'm sure more people desire this so I'm probably not using the right keywords...).

Anyway, an example data set (simplified as I have more columns that need (simple) aggregation):

ClientIDLocationIDRevenueType
1110Type1
2120Type1
3210Type2
4315Type2
5315Type2
6330Type1

Now I aggregate by locationID en sum the Revenue and I want to Type that occurs most often within the group. resulting in the following

LocationID Revenue Type

130Type1
210Type2
360Type2

How would I go about this? I first considerd grouping by location ánd type and then count the number of rows as to know which type occurs most often. But then I don't know how to aggregate by location and being left with the type that occcurs most often while still summing over all the revenue.

I hope someone is able to help me! Thanks in advance

EDIT:

It might be useful to know that I aim to make a bar chart (or any type of chart) based on the new table to diplay, for example, the average revenue per location. The Type is then used as a slicer so I can eliminate certain type of locations.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@Anonymous