Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

KTP_UBS
Helper I
Helper I

Adding new column IF statement in Query table

Hello,

I am relatively new to PowerBI and really appreciate it if you could help with my question below:

By referring to the excel screenshot below, I would like to add BudgetIndex2 and BudgetIndex3 in my query table by writing the formula as in column D and column E. The query table is the one when I click "Edit Queries" in Power BI Desktop. 

IfstatementPowerBI.JPG

Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@KTP_UBS - did you solve your problem?

/sdjensen

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
sdjensen
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Hi,

You can read about if statements in Power Query (Query Editor) in this page: http://www.excelguru.ca/blog/2014/08/27/the-if-function-in-power-query/

However I would recommend that you make these measures in your model instead. If you calculate values like this you will get wrong totals when using the value in your visuals.

/sdjensen

Hi,

I have came across the link you suggested before posting the question. The example in the link shows the formula on checking the text range but not comparing values in different rows.

Could you please suggest the formula to use in either Query Editor or using Measure?

Or could you suggest how I could process the following scenario by referring to the screenshot below?

1. A project has one budget but may receive one or more Grant

2. I would like to show chart that compare total grant and total budget of year 2016. By taking the screenshot as an example, the total grant for year 2016 = 75392 and total budget for year 2016 = 553725

IfstatementPowerBi2.JPG

Many thanks.

Hello,

Thanks for the sample file.

It works in a way if I pull out the Total Grant and Total Budget from two data sources / tables.