Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

sathish_kumar1
Frequent Visitor

Adding email groups in power bi security

HI Guys 

I am new to power bi, I developed a report and assigned RLS roles to each users in the company through "MANAGE ROLES" in power bi desktop and then i published the report in Power bi service.

Then i went to the datasets - Security to add the users in the group but since my company has around 150 users across india i cannot add all the users in the list.

So i created an email group with the help of IT team and added all the 150 users in the group.

Then i asked the administrator to add the group in the Azure active Directory from Microsoft 365

Now when i add the group in the security and checked the report through apps i cannot able to view it as the content is restricted.

Is the steps correct or someone please provide the details of how to do it, as i am completely stuck here.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
V-pazhen-msft
Community Support
Community Support

@sathish_kumar1 
You first define the RLS role in Desktop and manage RLS in Service, please refer to the tutorial, and there are limitations with RLS.
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/admin/service-admin-rls#:~:text=Row-level%20security%20%28....

Paul Zheng _ Community Support Team
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

1 REPLY 1
V-pazhen-msft
Community Support
Community Support

@sathish_kumar1 
You first define the RLS role in Desktop and manage RLS in Service, please refer to the tutorial, and there are limitations with RLS.
https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/power-bi/admin/service-admin-rls#:~:text=Row-level%20security%20%28....

Paul Zheng _ Community Support Team