Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

aaarzoo
Regular Visitor

Adding category data to the existing table

Hi,

I am new to PowerBI. I am trying to categorize data in a table based on certain key words found in a text column. These keywords and corresponding category is stored in another lookup table.

Example - 

Table 1 -

CategoryKeyword
FruitsApple
FruitsBanana
FruitsPear
BreadBread
Breadsandwich
Breadtoast
Meatsalami
Meatpork
MeatBeef
Meatpepperoni

Table 2 - 

S.No.Text
1I eat Banana for breakfast
2I eat beef jerky for breakfast
3I eat pear in breakfast
4I had milk and bread
5I had banana milk shake

I want to add another column in Table 2 which will search for keywork in column "Text" based on keyword from table 1 and populate the category value in the new column.

So, the resulting table 2 should look like - 

S.No.TextCategory
1I eat Banana for breakfastFruit
2I eat beef jerky for breakfastMeat
3I eat pear in breakfastFruit
4I had milk and breadBread
5I had banana milk shakeFruit
6I had chocolate milk and Bread

Bread

I toyed with lookupvalue, contains, related text search but I am not able to get the desired output.

Please let me know how to proceed further. 

Thanks in advance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@aaarzoo,

Please create the following columns in Table 2.

Column1 = FIRSTNONBLANK(FILTER(VALUES('Table 1'[Keyword]),SEARCH('Table 1'[Keyword],'Table 2'[Text],1,0)),1)
ExpectedColumn = LOOKUPVALUE('Table 1'[Category],'Table 1'[Keyword],'Table 2'[Column1])

1.JPG

Regards,
Lydia

Community Support Team _ Lydia Zhang
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
TomMartens
Super User
Super User

Hey,