Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Adding calculated columns to matrix visual

I'm trying to figure out how to add calculated columns to a matrix visual. I have a data set in excess of 10M records. Via a series of slicers the data set gets reduced to records of interest. Those records are aggregated into a very simple matrix visual (example shown below). 

I'm trying to figure out how to add a calculated column to that matrix visual. Each National Estimate would be used to make 3 new cacluations. I need the whole table to be interactive and adjust with the slicers that feed the matrix.

Addmittely I am new to PowerBI and I hope this is as simple as I think it should be.

I appreciate your insights.

Dean

Matrix visualMatrix visual

YearNational EstimateCalcuated Column
2017      14,727,704 
2010      14,694,928 
2012      14,614,128 
2016      14,319,418 
2011      14,162,084 
2015      14,132,697 
2013      14,033,745 
2009      13,966,898 
2014      13,860,971 
2008      13,456,353 
2001      13,310,088 
2007      13,232,338 
2006      13,232,263 
2004      13,096,983 
2000      12,924,488 
2002      12,790,786 
2003      12,720,947 
2005      12,608,693 
1999      12,165,225 
1998      12,049,690 
6 REPLIES 6
MFelix
Super User
Super User

Hi @Anonymous ,

I'm assuming that when you refer to calculated columns is a new column on the matrix and not on the data correct?

Just as a reference when you refer to calculated columns in PBI we are refering to columns that are added to the dataset tables and not on the visuals, this columns can then be used on the visuals. This calculated columns will increase the size of your file off course.