Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

MrSimonC
Frequent Visitor

Adding a second dimension to an active linked table with a count and date range

Hello all,

My first post on your eminently useful forum. I’ve been using PowerBI Desktop for a few weeks now, so I’m a newbie but have been reading a lot on here!

Background

I’ve a transaction table with customers (AccountID) who purchase something at a site (entry in tblTransaction).

I’ve a complicated overall table structure, but this issue centres around this main Transaction table.

trans and active members.png

tblTransaction has TimeStamp (withtime), so I’ve created TimestampDate (no time) to enable a relationship to a date table (customtblActiveMembers) where I’ve successfully added a calculated column against each day. It creates an overall distinct count of “active customers” (tblTransation.AccountID) by day (the definition of an “active” customer is one who has bought something in the last 3 months at a site) using this :

Active Members In Last 3 Months = 
/* calculated column counting the unique people with transactions in the last 3 months
    based on formula from: https://sqldusty.com/2015/10/21/10-dax-calculations-for-your-tabular-or-power-pivot-model-part-2/ */
CALCULATE (
    DISTINCTCOUNT ( tblTransaction[AccountID] ),
    DATESBETWEEN (
        customtblActiveMembers[Date],
        DATEADD ( customtblActiveMembers[Date], -3, MONTH ),
        customtblActiveMembers[Date]
    ),
    tblTransaction[AccountID] <> BLANK ()
)

However, my issue is that I can’t work out the right approach to add tblTransaction.SiteID into the data - so that I have “active” customers by site by day. What is the best approach?

So far I’ve tried: