Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

huguest
Advocate II
Advocate II

Add working days to a date

Hello, I am fairly new to Power BI and to this forum (first post).  I need to add a column that adds a fixed number (e.g. 15) of working days to a date that is already in my table.  In Excel, I use =WORKDAY([Date],15,[Holidays]), but I cannot figure out how to get the equivalent output in Power BI.  I am able to add a certain number of days (using Date.AddDays([Date], 15), but would really need to add working days.  Any help would be appreciated.

hu9uest.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
v-huizhn-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @huguest,

After research and test, there is no a function used to achieve same requirement in Power BI. You can follow the following to solutions.

1.You can calculated them in Excel, then load the data to PowerBI.

2. Create a Canlendar table.  The start_date is your min(facttable[date]), and end_date your max(facttable[date]).

CALENDAR(<start_date>, <end_date>)

In Calendar table, create calculated column to display the day if it is work day, rank all working days, get the result based on calculated columns. For example, I add futher 10 working days.

Identify = IF(OR(WEEKDAY(Canlendar[Date])=1, WEEKDAY(Canlendar[Date].[Date])=7),0,1)

Rank1 = RANKX(FILTER(Canlendar,Canlendar[Identify]=1),Canlendar[Date],,ASC)

Add 10 woring days = LOOKUPVALUE(Canlendar[Date],Canlendar[Identify],1,Canlendar[Rank1],Canlendar[Rank1]+10)

1.PNG

Create a relationship batween Calendar and your fact table.  Use the related function to get the result in fact table.

Result=RELATED(Calendar[Add 10 woring days])

If you have other issues, please feel free to ask.

Best Regards,

Angelia

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
Meha

How i can exclude Holiday list in same formula?

isamchakur