Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

eyesem
Helper I
Helper I

Add new rows to transform quarterly and yearly data to monthly

Hi. I'm new to PowerBI and can't find the way do do this.

I have data with a mix of monthly, quarterly and yearly data, and I need to transform everything into monthy data, by repeating the Quarterly data 3 times (dividing the ammounts by 3) and the yearly data 12 times (dividing ammounts by 12). The upper example table should be transformed in the lower table. How could I make this happen in the PowerBI editor?

Captura.PNG 

Thanks!

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
affan
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Hi @eyesem,

You can add a function to get the start and end of the period as below. Then add the required table as reference. See the details below and use the code shared below.

Create a new function as belwo and rename it to fxMonthsCount

(start as date, end as date) as table =>
let

Source = {Number.From(start)..Number.From(end)},
    #"Converted to Table" = Table.FromList(Source, Splitter.SplitByNothing(), null, null, ExtraValues.Error),
    #"Changed Type" = Table.TransformColumnTypes(#"Converted to Table",{{"Column1", type date}}),
    #"Renamed Columns" = Table.RenameColumns(#"Changed Type",{{"Column1", "StartDate"}}),

#"Duplicated Column" = Table.DuplicateColumn(#"Renamed Columns", "StartDate", "EndDate"),

#"Calculated End of Month" = Table.TransformColumns(#"Duplicated Column",{{"StartDate", Date.EndOfMonth, type date}}),
  #"Calculated End of Month1" = Table.TransformColumns(#"Calculated End of Month",{{"EndDate", Date.StartOfMonth, type date}}),
    #"Removed Duplicates" = Table.Distinct(#"Calculated End of Month1"),
    #"Inserted End of Year" = Table.AddColumn(#"Removed Duplicates", "EndOfYear", each Date.EndOfYear([StartDate]), type date),