cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
pbuser Member

Add an extra field from a data source

A power bi newbie here. 

Say if I import a table A from a data source into power bi, some minor changes to the imported dataset. calculated columns, measures etc.

Now I add a new field in the table A, how do I include the new field into the data set in power bi (without re-creating a new one)?

Thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Super User
Super User

Re: Add an extra field from a data source

@pbuser

If I didn't misunderstood you, when you refresh in power bi desktop your new added column will automatically be imported.
38 REPLIES 38
Super User
Super User

@pbuser

If I didn't misunderstood you, when you refresh in power bi desktop your new added column will automatically be imported.
mathysbt Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor

Hi,

I expected the functionality to work as you explained, but it doesn't for me.

I am using a local file. It is an Excel spreadsheet with a table. The table has 4 columns. If I add a fifth column with data, I would expect the field to show up in Power BI after a refresh. I click refresh for the datasource and it refreshes successfully. Then, I go to report and the new field does not show up. The only way to get the new field is to delete the old datasource and add a new one.

Thoughts?

carinat Regular Visitor
Regular Visitor

I have the same problem: If I add a column to my original data source in Excel and refresh in Power BI, my new column doesn't show up. Is it possible to get the new column or is the only way to start from scratch? (I'd rather not since I've build relationships to other sources, added calculated columns, etc.)

SabineOussi Established Member
Established Member

Make sure you have saved your spreadsheet before refreshing in Power BI.

carinat Regular Visitor
Regular Visitor

Refreshing columns that are already there is no problem. Getting the new columns included is though.