Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Add an extra field from a data source

A power bi newbie here. 

Say if I import a table A from a data source into power bi, some minor changes to the imported dataset. calculated columns, measures etc.

Now I add a new field in the table A, how do I include the new field into the data set in power bi (without re-creating a new one)?

Thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
ankitpatira
Community Champion
Community Champion

@Anonymous

If I didn't misunderstood you, when you refresh in power bi desktop your new added column will automatically be imported.

View solution in original post

47 REPLIES 47

I had the same issue - with Excel tables I couldn't perform the steps mentioned here as they apply only to CSV files.

I found a workaround for Excel files/tables that seems to work for me, so thought I'd share it.

I found that I had to save a copy of the existing file e.g. save as Filename_1 or similar, then go data source settings, change data source and select the new file. The new columns then appear.

You could then go back and save as the original file name, and change data source back to that again to retain the existing file.

Hope that helps.

Ben

Sorry, Pand.   the solution I described was the only one i was able to figure out.  Let me know if you find another way.

@elsalvador182 Thank you for that. I actually couldn't do exactly what you said because my csv file is updated from Sharepoint but the premise helped. When I inserted the step to import CSV, it inserted the whole document with the last column which had fallen off due to the new column being added. Then I could delete the old "import CSV step" and my steps all worked from there on to the end.