cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
DataGuy2016 Advocate II
Advocate II

Re: Add an extra field from a data source

Beware - you will need a PRO license for every user who wants to view your data.

dan_hoff Helper I
Helper I

mine are all CSV and the above two methods work 100% fine;  if you cannot follow the steps, do you want me to do pics one by one.... that will cost me a bit of time, but I dont want you to be flummoxed;  for CSV it works a charm

DavidB
Frequent Visitor

Thank you for this, @reneincer
I am new to Power BI, and it was driving me crazy that I had to make things all over again if I wanted to add data to my data source.

SNV Helper I
Helper I

I also have the same problem as the topic starter.

Both the proposed solutions work for me, changing the column amount in the advanced editor and switching the source to automatic.

But is there a possibility to make the number of the amount of columns in the advanced editor a variable?

So before the data is imported, the columns are counted in the source, stored as a variable and then with the import source step the variable is put after the columns

Ex.  [Delimiter=";", Columns=X, Encoding=1252, Quotestyle=Quotestyle.None]),

Where X is the counted variable.

Maybe this could automate the 2 solutions, if it is possible

Pandreoni
Frequent Visitor

Same issue. How do show the new column which I just created in the data source (Excel table, new column added but not shown in Power Bi desktop data field)? somehow I cant do those steps suggested above. thanks 

LouisT
Regular Visitor

Sorry, Pand.   the solution I described was the only one i was able to figure out.  Let me know if you find another way.

Rodion
Frequent Visitor

Thanks, this is by for the most simple solution. It also helps me to understand how to work with M query and the advanced editor, which is a big plus I you're new to this.

LouisT
Regular Visitor

Rodion, Glad it worked for you too!  🙂

Benegade