Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Add an extra field from a data source

A power bi newbie here. 

Say if I import a table A from a data source into power bi, some minor changes to the imported dataset. calculated columns, measures etc.

Now I add a new field in the table A, how do I include the new field into the data set in power bi (without re-creating a new one)?

Thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
ankitpatira
Community Champion
Community Champion

@Anonymous

If I didn't misunderstood you, when you refresh in power bi desktop your new added column will automatically be imported.

View solution in original post

47 REPLIES 47

Thanks a lot !! Your work around saved my time a lot !!!

Glad it worked and saved time for you.  It should really be a lot easier than that in my opinion within Power BI.  Hopefully Microsoft will make the change in a future version.

I wish that trick worked for me. It's not though. I can't believe this is even an issue for users. It should not be so complicated to add columns and have them show up that you have to take risks breaking things to add a new bit of data. Boggles the mind how bad that is as a feature in the software.  I might look elsewhere for my reporting solution.  Did this issue reoccur for you each time and become a big pain over the years, as people ask for changes in the reporting and supply new bits of data? Or did you find a way to keep using PowerBI even though this is a pain? Was it worth the pain? Or would you recommend other more flexible solutions?