Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Add an extra field from a data source

A power bi newbie here. 

Say if I import a table A from a data source into power bi, some minor changes to the imported dataset. calculated columns, measures etc.

Now I add a new field in the table A, how do I include the new field into the data set in power bi (without re-creating a new one)?

Thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
ankitpatira
Community Champion
Community Champion

@Anonymous

If I didn't misunderstood you, when you refresh in power bi desktop your new added column will automatically be imported.

View solution in original post

47 REPLIES 47
CTom
Regular Visitor

I know this was solved but found an even simpler solution.

In power query select the query in question > right click > select advanced editor

On line 1, where it lists your file source, change column = x to column = x + y

where x = the default column number listed

where y = the number of additional columns missing (OP situation would change it from 4 to 5 if the original file had 4 columns and 1 added column so should list as column = 4 to column = 5)

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hello Community

Does this video (https://youtu.be/YCCMCIktTdQ) by Ruth still stand good as of today to bring in added or deleted columns from Excel Data Source to Power BI without any issues or is there an updated feature or functionality from Microsoft Power BI?

Please let me know because I am in this situation too with business adding and deleting columns in the Excel Data Source.

Hoping to hear from you soon.

Kind regards, B

Thanks for metioning the video, it helped me to get around the newly added column to the dataset (multiple files on the Sharepoint folder combined)

Paulyeo11
Impactful Individual
Impactful Individual

@Anonymous wrote: