Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

djj2
Frequent Visitor

Active Directory Report Help

Hello All

I am complete noob to PowerBi but i need to generate some dashboards urgently from our AD for a project i am working on. 

I have created a table that has an abreviation for each city and its full name. 

Code   Location 

LON     London 

Then i have pulled in the data i want from AD into a table, however location can only be measured by the OU the device is in. So the only way i can identify a devices location is by for example the Distinguished Name field where OU=LON. 

So the dashboard needs to pull the live data from Active Directory and then do a look up on the device OU to match the location code against the partial string of the Distinguished Name field. So the output is

Device      Location

Server1     London

I also then want to populate another table with the number of devices in that location.

Location.   Devices

London.     50

I appreciate these are very noob questions and your help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for your help

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @djj2,

In your scenario, the key is to extract the city code from the DistinguishedName column to a new column, and create a relationship between the two table with city code column, then you can easily show the expected result on the report. 

1. Use the Split Column by Delimiter option to split the DistinguishedName column in Query Editor.

split1.PNGsplit2.PNGsplit3.PNG

2. Remove other columns, only keep the column(DistinguishedName.3) which contains the city code.

3. Add a new custom column to remove "OU=" from the code value.

=Text.RemoveRange([DistinguishedName.3],0,3)

addcolumn1.PNG

4. Remove "DistinguishedName.3" column.

5. Click "Close&Apply".