Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

npatten
Helper II
Helper II

A trickey DAX formula for fundraising

Hi-- I'm a prospect manager/data analyst with the children's hospital in Vancouver, BC. I'm the only one I know in my organization working with DAX.  I'm trying to simplify a SQL formula to work in DAX that returns a specific monetary value from one of three columns based on the proposal status of another column. Basically donor proposals can have different values based on the fundraising cultivation stage. The IT colleauge developed the formula in SQL to run a Crystal Report, but I'm trying to adapt the formula into the Power Pivot/Power BI space. I believe the formula is set up as a series of IF statements, and it works in PBI, but not in 2010 Power Pivot. Here's the formula:

if([Prospect Proposal Stage]="11. MG Qualification") or ([Prospect Proposal Stage]="12. MG Early Cultivation") or ([Prospect Proposal Stage]="13. MG Advanced Cultivation") or ([Prospect Proposal Stage]="14. MG Solicitation in Progress") or ([Prospect Proposal Stage]="17. Payment Pending") then [Prospect Proposal Initial Target Amount] else if([Prospect Proposal Stage]="15. MG Decision Pending") or ([Prospect Proposal Stage]="16. MG Verbal Commitment") then [Prospect Proposal Amount Asked] else if ([Prospect Proposal Stage]="6. Confirmed") then [Prospect Proposal Amount Funded] else 0

For some reason, this won't work in PowerPivot. forAnyone have any idea of what's going on? I can post some sample data if needed. Thanks in advance for any help.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
Sean
Community Champion
Community Champion

@npatten 

You are in the Query Editor => M (that's you original formula)

M to DAX - Multiple IFs - 2.png