Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

MMCBRAYER
Regular Visitor

6 months moving average

Hi,

I'm working on a project to move all excel files to POWER BI, i'm new to this and I can say that I'm pretty much excited to solved this challenge. I tried searching through forums but no luck and i'm close to the wall now, and would appreciate the help of the community here;

I have created a column to SUM the inventory QTY per Month and a column to show MAX of Inventory QTY based on the column SUM of Inventory QTY per Month, now I'm not familiar how to incorporate the moving formula below to a table.

6 month moving average.PNG

6 month moving average2.PNG

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @MMCBRAYER,

Please check the file here: https://1drv.ms/u/s!ArTqPk2pu-BkgSdlT8WMv_5-jYIQ.

Because I don't know your model structure, I tried like this. If you want more help, please provide your model.

Result =
SUM ( Inventory[inventory usd] )
    / CALCULATE (
        SUM ( 'Sell Out'[sell out usd] ),
        DATESINPERIOD ( 'Calendar'[Date], MAX ( 'Calendar'[Date] ), -6, MONTH ),
        ALL ( 'Calendar'[YearMonth] )
    )

6 months moving average2.JPG

Best Regards!

Dale

Community Support Team _ Dale
If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
v-jiascu-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @MMCBRAYER,

Could you please mark the proper answer as solution or share the solution if it's convenient for you? That will be a big help to the others.

Best Regards!
Dale

If this post helps, then please consider Accept it as the solution to help the other members find it more quickly.
v-jiascu-msft
Employee
Employee

Hi @MMCBRAYER,