Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Ria
Frequent Visitor

3 Month YoY comparison

My goal is to create a table similar to the visualization matrix below.  This works great except when the 3 month period straddles 2 differenct years.  (December, January, February).   I've tried to recreate this with the PreviousMonths function, but still have the same issue and have the additional problem of having the previous month next to the current month and not separated as below.  Do I need to create separate measures for each of current month, current month minus 1 month, minus 2 months etc.? and how? I'm new to DAX Time Intelligence functions and with a lot of help from past postings have created a Dates table and the Prior Month Sales, but now am stuck.

2015  2015 Total2016  2016 TotalGrand Total
 FebruaryMarchApril FebruaryMarchApril  
Customer A93134139366887882248614
Customer B525594202655393211413
Customer C13811314265    265
TOTAL2833022478321531311754591,291
6 REPLIES 6
v-sihou-msft
Employee
Employee

@Ria

I assume you have fact data per Customer per Month in the fact table. If you just want to display a matrix, you just need to have month group on Year in Column Group of the matrix, then use a slicer to filter expected 3 months.

If you want to calculate the PreviousMonth, Current Month - 2 month Total. You can just use PARALLELPERIOD() in your calculation. 

Measure = CALCULATE(SUM('Table'[Amount]),PARALLELPERIOD('Table'[Date],-1,MONTH))

Regards,

GilbertQ
Super User
Super User

Hi @Ria

What about creating a calculated measure with the following below:

YOY = CALCULATE([Measure],SAMEPERIODLASTYEAR('Date'[Calendar Date']))

What this will do, is based on which ever date period you put into your table, it will go to the same period of the previous years and subsequent years.