Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

1M row limitation with 67 rows

Hi!

I am new to Power BI and I am getting a weird error

I am working in Direct Query Mode, and built a matrix with columns as months with 3 values each column.

I also have a date slicer, if the slicer has more than 3 days, I get the following error: "The resultset of a query to external data source has exceeded the maximum allowed size of '1000000' rows."

The thing is, the variable in rows, doesn't have more than 67 different values. I even filtered this variables to only show top 5, but this error keeps on showing.

Anybody has any idea why this is happening and how to solve it?

Thanks in advance 🙂

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
dm-p
Super User
Super User

Hi @Anonymous,

It's difficult without getting details of your DirectQuery model or what it's querying against, but is all your matrix data coming from a single table/query in your document?

With DirectQuery, Power BI needs to pull in all applicable data it needs to know about first, and will aggregate it afterwards - once it's finished loading, or the row limit has been reached.

One of the advantages of using the import approach, is that Power BI has all the data already present in the model and can figure this out without having to query outside of itself, and you typically don't see these issues here. Of course, DirectQuery has its own particular advantages 🙂

What I suspect this means is that even though you have 67 unique values, they are repeated many times over for all the rows of the result that's pulled back via DirectQuery before Power BI can attempt to filter it down to the unique values.