Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Gerhard1957

1899-12-31 in time column

Hi.

I am new to Power BI. I imported data from an Excel spreadsheet which includes a time column properly formated in Excel as hh:mm. However in Power BI every time slot is shown as 1899-12-31 hh:mm for example 1899-12-31 10:00:00 AM. I merged the time column with the date column but the 1899-12-31 date remains in the new column. Please help?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

@v-shex-msft

That is correct.

However, it looks like you are changing the format in the modelling tab of the main pbi desktop window. If you change the column type in the Query Editor from Date/Time to Time, it also solves the problem.

Date.png

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
SKan
Frequent Visitor

A little bit late to the game(as the original post is from 2016:)) but i also had the same issue. I used the following expression to create a date table:

DateTable = CALENDAR (2015, 1, 1), 2021, 12, 31)
and it retrned only one date in my table ie 31/12/1899
Solution:
Use the following formula:
DateTable = CALENDAR (DATE (2015, 1, 1), DATE (2021, 12, 31))

bullius
Helper V
Helper V

Hi @Gerhard1957

Does the date: 1899-12-31 appear where there is no date value in the original data? i.e. there is just a time value?

Have you tried changing the field type to "Time"?

Hi @bullius,

>>Does the date: 1899-12-31 appear where there is no date value in the original data? i.e. there is just a time value?

Yes, it as you said. This case also appeared when you change date format to date/time.

Default table:

Capture.PNG

Changed format:

Capture2.PNG

Date format convert to [date] field + 12:00 AM, time format convert to 1899-12-31 + [Time] field.

You can modify the format to show the correct result:

Date:

Capture3.PNG

time:

Capture4.PNG

Result:

Capture5.PNG