Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Magdelicia
Frequent Visitor

1 line in a graph : actual and forecast

Hi everyone! 

I'm a beginner in PowerBI and after all my research, impossible for me to solve my problem. 

I want to do a simple thing : having a line which show my actual sales and my futur forecasted sales (already calculated). Same as the picture below.

foreeee.png

MAXDATESALES = last date of sales recorded  in DB

I used an if ([MAXDATESALES] > today(), [FORECASTCALCULATION] ; 0)

But powerbi only show me historical sales. I don't know what to do Cat Sad

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
nickchobotar
Skilled Sharer
Skilled Sharer

Hello,

Most of the time forecast reports are coming in as separate files (usually as spreadsheets) which is a live document and can be subject to different changes. Best practices here are to include forecast as a separate table and join it to the Date dimension.

*** To my knowledge dotted lines are not yet supported despite numerous requests on ideas.powerbi.com

Thanks, Nick -

image.png

image.png

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
nickchobotar
Skilled Sharer
Skilled Sharer

Hello,

Most of the time forecast reports are coming in as separate files (usually as spreadsheets) which is a live document and can be subject to different changes. Best practices here are to include forecast as a separate table and join it to the Date dimension.

*** To my knowledge dotted lines are not yet supported despite numerous requests on ideas.powerbi.com

Thanks, Nick -

image.png

image.png

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hey..

I tried plotting the same but i am getting discontinuity at the date where actuals end and and forecasted starts. I have tried almost everything. what do you think can be the reason behind this and how to solve it. Thank you

fhill wrote: