Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

percentage of column with text values

Hi there

Probably an easy one for the seasoned PowerBi developer. I'm a newbie.

we looking to find percentage for column status where value is "OnTime". I already have a table for date dimension which we'll use to visualize data by month

DateStatus
01-MarOnTime
04-MarLate
04-AprUndetermined
07-AprLate
05-JunOnTime
08-JulOnTime
01-AugLate
03-AugUndetermined
2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
PC2790
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hello,

You can use this DAX measure to achieve it:

%OnTimeStatus = DIVIDE(CALCULATE(COUNTA(StatusTable[Status]),FILTER(StatusTable,StatusTable[Status] = "OnTime")),CALCULATE(COUNTA(StatusTable[Status]),ALLEXCEPT(StatusTable,StatusTable[Status])))

Also ensure to click on the measure & change the format to percentage.

This will give you the percentage of On Time on the basis of total rows in your table.

I hope I interpreted your requirement correctly.

Please respond back if you are looking for something else 

View solution in original post

PC2790
Community Champion
Community Champion

Sure you can. Both will work for you.

Infact COUNTROWS will give more efficient result for you.

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
PC2790
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hello,

You can use this DAX measure to achieve it:

%OnTimeStatus = DIVIDE(CALCULATE(COUNTA(StatusTable[Status]),FILTER(StatusTable,StatusTable[Status] = "OnTime")),CALCULATE(COUNTA(StatusTable[Status]),ALLEXCEPT(StatusTable,StatusTable[Status])))

Also ensure to click on the measure & change the format to percentage.

This will give you the percentage of On Time on the basis of total rows in your table.

I hope I interpreted your requirement correctly.