Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

LizardBoi
Regular Visitor

Year on Year and Period by Period using custom calendar

Hi All

Im very new to using PowerBi and completly self taught. 
I need some help with creating 2 tables on a report that will show various different things.

Our business has 12 periods per year - running from January to January.

I have a date table set up for FinYear, FinPeriod, PriorFinYear, PriorFinPeriod

I also have a table with sales data - Invoice Date, Sale Amount, Profit, Margin, Discount Given, Total Passengers etc

What I am trying to do is create 2 matrix tables that will give me a breadown of difference between this year and the previous year.  However when I have used the "Parallelperiod' function as soon as I include the final period of the year it then throws the previous year data and is including this year + last year sales.  This is the formula im using - 

Total Sales LY = CALCULATE( [Total Sales TY], PARALLELPERIOD( 'Period Dates'[Booked Date],-1, YEAR))

What should I be doing that would  make this work properly?

4 REPLIES 4
amitchandak
Super User
Super User

I assume it from feb to Jan then you can datesytd ot totalyd, they allow year end

YTD Sales = CALCULATE(SUM(Sales[Sales Amount]),DATESYTD(('Date'[Date]),"1/31"))
Last YTD Sales = CALCULATE(SUM(Sales[Sales Amount]),DATESYTD(dateadd('Date'[Date],-1,Year),"1/31"))
Last YTD complete Sales = CALCULATE(SUM(Sales[Sales Amount]),DATESYTD(ENDOFYEAR(dateadd('Date'[Date],-1,Year)),"1/31"))
Last to last YTD Sales = CALCULATE(SUM(Sales[Sales Amount]),DATESYTD(dateadd('Date'[Date],-2,Year),"1/31"))

If it is too custom, then refer :https://community.powerbi.com/t5/Community-Blog/Power-BI-Working-with-Non-Standard-Time-Periods/ba-p...