Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Week-ending Date Running Total Quandry

Hi All

I'm new to Power Bi - coming from a SQL and Tableau background, I am finding it tricky! So, my problem is I have a table that reports by week-ending date - so there are no dates between. The table records submissions made to my organisation by other organisations and the report is trying to identify (for a pie chart) who is submitting regulary, who is submitting intermittently and who is not submitting at all over a period of six weeks (or in this case, the last six week-ends). So, this seems like it should be simple enough to get the data to formulate mny three tranches with the following formula in a DAX Calculate function where 'SubmissionDetails'[Total Submissions] has the number of submissions made that week and 'Submission Details'[reportDate] is the week-ending date:

CALCULATE(
sum('SubmissionDetails'[Total Submissions]),
DATESINPERIOD('Submission Details'[reportDate],LASTDATE('Submission Details'[reportDate]),-42,DAY)
)

However, all this does is return the number of submissions for the current week i.e. it's exaclty the same as the 'SubmissionDetails'[Total Submissions] column. I'm stumped to be honest, the Submission Details'[reportDate] is most definitely a date column. I do have a date dimension, but when using the formula above, it doesn't like me using a combination of the Submission Details'[reportDate] and the date dimension date field in the DATESINPERIOD formula. I would love some help to try understand if you can reference two tables in this formula, or there is something I am missing! Thanks in advance!

3 REPLIES 3
Whitewater100
Solution Sage
Solution Sage

Hi AJCT: