Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

tere_or
Regular Visitor

Week count after&before New Year

Hello,

I am a newbie who's using Power BI for the first time, and find myself struggling over Week splitting when there is a year transition.

Indeed, I have a TIME table, whose columns are calculated like this: 

tere_or_0-1678289877516.png

By default, Week 1 begins the first Monday of the new year (Spanish calendar, weeks are Mon-Sun).

The problem is that with the DAX configuration above, week 52 is absorbed by January (which is incorrect, it should fall in December):

tere_or_1-1678290109332.png

Does anyone who if/how can Power BI set a standard formula in order to consider Week 1 the one starting on January 1st, and week 52 until 31st December?

Thanks a lot for any hint regarding this topic (I haven't been able to find a related tutorial). 

Regards,

Teresa

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hello @v-rongtiep-msft ,

Thanks for the advice. We found a workaround (basically filtering out January 1st 2023), but I keep the code in case the workaround has more impact than initially expected and we need to re-work on it.

Thanks a lot!

Regards,

Teresa

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
v-rongtiep-msft
Community Support
Community Support

Hi @tere_or ,

I have created a new sample, please refer to my pbix file to see if it helps you.

Column =
IF (
    'Table'[month] = 1
        && 'Table'[Weeknumber] > 10,
    MINX (
        FILTER (
            'Table',
            'Table'[Yearmonthnumber] = EARLIER ( 'Table'[Yearmonthnumber] )
        ),
        'Table'[Yearweek]
    ),
    IF (
        'Table'[month] = 12
            && 'Table'[Weeknumber] <= 10,
        MAXX (
            FILTER (
                'Table',
                'Table'[Yearmonthnumber] = EARLIER ( 'Table'[Yearmonthnumber] )
            ),