Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Today compare with the same day last year, 2/3/4/5 years ago

Hi everyone, 

I'm new to Power BI and DAX.

I want to show the total ID count of this year and the total ID counts of previous years at the same dates each of which is associated with a different Category_Number. 

The below tables show the original data set (1st table) and the result table (2nd table) I would like to have.

IDCategory_NumberEffective_Date
1804/17/2020
2803/10/2020
38012/5/2019
4709/8/2019
5707/13/2019
6703/5/2019
77012/18/2018
8606/1/2018
9603/22/2018
10602/28/2018
116012/1/2017
12509/3/2017
13505/2/2017
14503/31/2017
155012/26/2016
16503/25/2015
17403/22/2016
184012/25/2015
194011/31/2015
20409/30/2015

Category_NumberCount_ID_CurrentCount_ID_Previous

Today's date is 4/17/2020, and the date changes every day.

For Category_Nbr = 80: Effective_Date <Today

For Category_Nbr = 70: Effective_Date < Last year Today

For Category_Nbr = 60: Effecitve_Date < 2 years ago Today

For Category_Nbr = 50: Effecitve_Date < 3 years ago Today

For Category_Nbr = 40: Effecitve_Date < 4 years ago Today

Any ideas or suggestions will be greatly appreciated. 

Thanks! 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Hi @Anonymous ,

Sorry  forgot to mention the measure Count Previous

CountPrevious =
var SelCategory = MAX(SampleData[Category_Number])
return
CALCULATE(COUNTROWS(SampleData), Filter((SampleData),SampleData[Effective_Date] <= SampleData[DaytoCompare] &&
SampleData[Category_Number] = SelCategory ) )

CheenuSing

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution and also give KUDOS !

Proud to be a Datanaut!

View solution in original post

12 REPLIES 12
harshnathani
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi @Anonymous ,

Can you please confirm the output.