Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Fizzgig08
Frequent Visitor

Survey questions - change year on year

Hi all,

I'm new to Power BI and seeking help/guidance.

I am creating a report using survey data. One of the visuals is a bar graph showing the score for each question in a particular survey section for 2022. My data also includes the score for the same questions in 2021 but I don't want this displayed in the visual so have filtered to only show data for 2022. I have set up my slicers, so I can filter by department and survey section to show the relevant questions and scores for the current year, and all works as expected.

I would now like to use conditional formatting to show whether the score for each question has increased or decreased since 2021 through the colour of the bar (red for decrease, green for increase for example).

I assume I will need to create a new measure to achieve this, but I'm not sure. Guidance and help appreciated!

4 REPLIES 4
jewel_at
Helper II
Helper II

Hi @Fizzgig08 

Do you mean that you have both 2021 and 2022 data in the same table? Like this? 

jewel_at_0-1672783467849.png

If yes, then you can try to create a new table with DAX 

var CurrentTotal =
SUMMARIZE(CALCULATETABLE('Table', 'Table'[Year] = "2022"), 'Table'[Question], "CurrentTotalScore", SUM('Table'[Score]))

var PreviousTotal =
SUMMARIZE(CALCULATETABLE('Table', 'Table'[Year] = "2021"), 'Table'[Question], "PreviousTotalScore", SUM('Table'[Score]))

RETURN NATURALLEFTOUTERJOIN(CurrentTotal, PreviousTotal)

Then create a new calculated measure

HasIncreased = 
if(SUM('Table 2'[CurrentTotalScore]) > sum('Table 2'[PreviousTotalScore]), 1, 0)

To apply the conditional formatting on your bar chart, go to the Visualization settings, and setup Rules on the conditional formatting