Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

latrous98
Frequent Visitor

Summerize column distinct

I'm new to dax, and I have created a table using this code.

Summary installation =
VAR _Table = SUMMARIZECOLUMNS('produit installé'[Netbios_Name0],'produit'[FileDescription (groups)])
return DISTINCT(_Table)
but there is a problem with it as the returned table gives me a row of netbios_Name for each file description category.
is there a way to fix this .
thanks for your help 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
amitchandak
Super User
Super User

@latrous98 , if these table have join summarize should also work

SUMMARIZ('produit installé', 'produit installé'[Netbios_Name0],'produit'[FileDescription (groups)])

or

SUMMARIZ('produit', 'produit installé'[Netbios_Name0],'produit'[FileDescription (groups)])

if these does not work

Can you share sample data and sample output in table format? Or a sample pbix after removing sensitive data.

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
amitchandak
Super User
Super User

@latrous98 , if these table have join summarize should also work

SUMMARIZ('produit installé', 'produit installé'[Netbios_Name0],'produit'[FileDescription (groups)])

or

SUMMARIZ('produit', 'produit installé'[Netbios_Name0],'produit'[FileDescription (groups)])

if these does not work

Can you share sample data and sample output in table format? Or a sample pbix after removing sensitive data.

if I want to make a measure that does give the rows number and filter upon that , and then use it in a visual , what is the blueprint I need to follow ?

the first table 'produit installé' (installed product ) contains all the products regardless of the groupe they belong to so doing a summerizeColumn without distinct give me rows as much as there is subproduct to a given category .