Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

ABech
Frequent Visitor

Sum of workdays for all employees over time fails due to changing number of employees.

Hello 

Im pretty new in the dax world and need help on my new job. Thanks in advance.

Calculating the time absent isn't the problem. I got that correctly.

The problem is i have to calculate the %-ratio between abscence time and full contract time across all employees.

I actually just need a formula saying something like: number of "employees * contract hours" over the whole given period.

The problem is that the number of employees changes a lot over time, so when i try to make a ratio for the whole year (or longe period) the number gets way to big, because i used DISTINCTCOUNT for employee-ID, hence it just uses the total number of employees for the whole period although many employees weren't hired during some parts of the year.

So far i calculated at chart showing both ebsent time (columns) and contract time (line) in days for every month, and that works well since we only hire the 1st day of every month and people mostly stops the last day of the month, so the number of employes for within a months rarely changes.

The formula for the measure showing the contract hours in this chart is : 

Coontract time without holidays and vacation = 
CALCULATE( DISTINCTCOUNT ( TableX[EmployeeID] )
    * CALCULATE (
        COUNTA ( 'Date'[Day Type] ),
        FILTER ( 'Date', 'Date'[Day Type] = "Working day" )
    )
    - DIVIDE (
        CALCULATE (
            SUM ( 'TableX'[Quantity of hours registred] ),
            'TableX'[HourCode] IN { "VacationCode" }
        ),
    ) , ALL( 'TranslationOfHourCodeNames'[HourCode] )
)