Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

maustin02
Regular Visitor

Sum of Count if

Hi All,

I am still new to PowerBI and seeing if anyone could help me out. I know it can be down but I am struggeling to get a measure set up that has a rolling sum based on the date. I have gotten this work in excel but struggeling to repodcue it in PowerBI. I have a data set that contains dates, "modfied date" and then "comment date". The first measure i am trying to create is "Closed", in this measure i am trying to identify unique dates and in the "modified date". Then total up the count of thoes dates that are less than or equal to that date. The second measure is "Open" this meause would give a rolling sum as well, but it would only sum if the comment date is less than or equal to the date modified. 

Below are two screenshots:

- First one is me producing the correct results in excel 

- Second image is me taking a stab at reporducing it in PowerBI

PowerBI.jpg

Excel.jpg

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
AntrikshSharma
Community Champion
Community Champion

@maustin02  Let me know if this works for you, refer to the file attached below my signature:

1.png

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
AntrikshSharma
Community Champion
Community Champion

@maustin02  Let me know if this works for you, refer to the file attached below my signature:

1.png

Thank you so much for the help this is prefect. I have one question about the set up. Is there a reason why you generated a date table for the graph instead of using the date modifed field as the x axis? 

@maustin02 Yes, it is actually a best practice to have a date table in your PBI model, otherwise PBI will generate a separate hidden date table for each column of your model, refer to the below images.