Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Fernus
Frequent Visitor

Starting out in Power BI, Need DAX help

Hi,

I'm new to Power BI and almost pulling my hair out as I come across multiple DAX issues in trying to create new measures!

To start with can someone tell me why this formula will not work?  For a card visual, I'm trying to sum the lengths for unique project titles and where the parameter column is equal to 1 but for the love of God can't get it to work!

Total = calculate (sum(Sheet1[length]), distinct(Sheet1[project]), filter(Sheet1[parameter]=1))

So the following should equal 219 (12 + 7 + 200)

Length     Project        Parameter

12            A                 1

7              B                 1

200          C                 1

50            D                 0

On a separate measure issue, I've learnt from watching tutorials where creating new measures is advocated instead of creating/adding new columns to your dataset to lend a less resource heavy file.  Again, I'm struggling badly trying to create the following if statement so I can extract figures from the fee column and force text values to be null.  When typing the formula I can only seem to select other measures previously created instead of being able to select the column I want. Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong?

Cost = IF(ISNUMBER(VALUE(Sheet1[fee])), Sheet1[fee]),"")

The fee column does have some cells with text values as mentioned like n/a.  Perhaps I am thinking in too much of in an Excel mindset but even when I try change the data type of the column from text to whole numbers I get the error "We can't automatically convert the column to Whole Number type." so creating a new column doesn't work either, is this because some cells contain text ie n/a?

Thanks in advance for your help!

6 REPLIES 6
AlB