Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

[SOLVED] Getting correct sums from unpivoted table in star schema

Hi everyone, I'm having some difficulty with a new dashboard I'm working on. This is my first time implemenenting a star schema but I have one central "fact" table surrounded by "dimension" tables, linked with unique keys. I have several columns of survey data in the fact table that need to be unpivoted but this is causing duplicates of all the other value fields in the fact table. Here is a mock up of my starting data:

IDValueSurvey1Survey2

And here it is after the unpivot:

IDValueSurveyAnswer
110Survey11.1
110Survey22.1
110Survey11.11
110Survey22.11
220Survey11.2
220Survey22.2

As you can see, after the survey columns are unpivoted, there are duplicate values in the value column. So, for example, if I want a card that shows the sum of an ID's value column, its much bigger than it should be. How do I work around this without creating another table and ruining the star schema? Happy to provide more context, thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi everyone, thanks for the suggestions! I actually found a solution from another post that does exactly what I need. Here is the formula I used in case anyone else has the same question:

Calculated Value = SUMX(VALUES(Grouping ID),CALCULATE(MAX(Value)))

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi everyone, thanks for the suggestions! I actually found a solution from another post that does exactly what I need. Here is the formula I used in case anyone else has the same question:

Calculated Value = SUMX(VALUES(Grouping ID),CALCULATE(MAX(Value)))

HotChilli
Super User
Super User