Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Running total using mutiple filters

Hi I have following data 

DomianDescrDateCountCumulative
AClose01/01/202011
BOpen01/01/202000
CClose 01/01/202011
AClose02/01/202023
AOpen02/01/202011

I have 1st 4 columns and I have to calculate column 5 - Cumulative in the measure to use it for a line graph.

I have to add numbers in the cumulative column where Domain and descr are the same for the previous date . Eg A domian / clos e descr should show cumlative of A domain / close descr of o1/01/2020 and 02/01/2020. How can this be done?

I am not very good with the multiple filters in DAX , hence requesting help.

Thanks in advance!

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
edhans
Super User
Super User

Hi @Anonymous - I love Power Query, but this is best done in DAX I believe as was your original course. Here is what I have done:

edhans_2-1603756918775.png

You can see it matches your expected "Cumulative Goal" values. Full measure text below.

Cumulative =
VAR varDomain =
    MAX( 'Table'[Domian] )
VAR varDescription =
    MAX( 'Table'[Descr] )
VAR varCurrentDate =
    MAX( 'Table'[Date] )
RETURN
    CALCULATE(
        SUM( 'Table'[Count] ),
        FILTER(
            ALL( 'Table' ),
            'Table'[Domian] = varDomain
                && 'Table'[Descr] = varDescription
                && 'Table'[Date] <= varCurrentDate
        )
    )

Did I answer your question? Mark my post as a solution!
Did my answers help arrive at a solution? Give it a kudos by clicking the Thumbs Up!

DAX is for Analysis. Power Query is for Data Modeling

Proud to be a Super User!

MCSA: BI Reporting

View solution in original post