Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

Anonymous
Not applicable

Running total/ cumulative sum measure not responding to some slicers

Hi all,

I’m pretty new to Power BI and DAX and I’m having some strange behaviour with some measures that I’ve calculated. It will take a bit of space to explain this, but I’d *really* appreciate any help as I’ve been racking my brains over this for days and I can’t solve it.

I have a data table that contains member information for a card scheme. I have a few measures that I’m interested in that need to be created, the main ones being:

• The number of new members per quarter
  • The running count/cumulative total in each quarter

My problem is that my running count measure responds weirdly to slicers – it will recalculate as it should for some slicers, but not for others. I think it might be something to do with the relationships between data tables, but not sure.

Here is the code for my measures:

1) New members:

N of Members = COUNT('Members'[MembershipNumber])

2) Running count

This is where things get a bit complicated -- although I’m calculating the running total by quarter, the data type for 'quarter' can’t be set as a date because the column is a text string that concatenates year + quarter, which allows me to plot data for all quarters over multiple years. Instead, I’ve created an index for the quarters that orders them (e.g. Q1-2019 has an index of 1, Q2-2019 has an index of 2, etc.) and used that index to calculate my running total.

So I have a column ‘Year-Qtr’ in my members data, and then a column for the index ‘Qtr_index_no’ in another data table that gives the index for each quarter. Then I’ve used this code to calculate the running total:

Running Count = 
    VAR MaxIndex = MAX( 'TargetMemberships'[Qtr_index_no] )
    RETURN
        CALCULATE(