Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

cdcaruba
Regular Visitor

Running balance ignoring other columns

Hi, 

I am new to DAX and have been looking for an answer for about a week now and I cant get it right. 

The scenario is simple. I need a running total to create a balance that keeps on running, independant of other columns. So it just has to keep adding the previous row to the current row. The problem is with the product category column, that creates a group on which the RT is based on. I don't want that. 

cdcaruba_0-1606224619938.png

the DAX for "cumulative balance" = 

cumulative balance:=CALCULATE([TotalRevenue],
filter(ALLEXCEPT(dDate,dDate[Year],dDate[Month Number]),
dDate[Date] <= MAX(dDate[Date])
))

The data model is classic star schema with Sales fact , date dimension, product dimension. 

How to ignore the product dimension and have the running total keep on totalling? 

5 REPLIES 5
cdcaruba
Regular Visitor

@CNENFRNL 

I am beginning to understand a bit better. When you say 'cell' do you mean 'row'? (As this is in Excel and a cell is really just the one cell). 

Lets concider a slightly different table: in stead op category we use ProductID

Perhaps a relationship can be created by concatenating the productID and the YearMonth column, creating a YearMonthProductID column (but I dont want to show it in the results)?

This is almost it, but obviously it resets at the next month.

cumulative balance:=var maxProdID = MAX( dProduct[ProductID] )
RETURN
    CALCULATE ( [TotalRevenue], dProduct[ProductID] <= maxProdID )

cdcaruba_1-1606486411895.png

I have the feeling all will be soleved if it was possible to create a dynamic rownumber for the whole table, but I haven't been able to figure that out. 

cdcaruba
Regular Visitor