Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

nsolanki
Regular Visitor

Row to Column and Divide that column

Hello,

I have created matrix table that looks like pivot table (Row and column). Since column are created from rows i cannot divide this newly created cloumn. I wanted to divide 'WS" with "Total" and similarly "Other Billable" with "Total". 

Please help me out with this. I am new to Power BI. 

Thanks. Sample DataSample Data

5 REPLIES 5
sturlaws
Resident Rockstar
Resident Rockstar

Hi,

since you have not included any information about table names and fields, a solution will have to be somewhat generic. 

Try something like this:

[ws by total] =
DIVIDE (
    CALCULATE ( SUM ( table[value] ); FILTER ( table; type = "WS" ) );
    CALCULATE ( SUM ( table[value] ); ALL ( table[type] ) ))

How to go from here will depend on what you want the outcome to look like. Should WS be replaces with WS by Total, or do you want to show both?

Hello,

My bad that i haven't provided all the information. The new column (WS/Total) will not replace but as addition of new column to my matrix table. 

see below are feilds of my table.  

my intent is to create new caculated column showing utilization (WS/Total) similarly Other Billable/Total etc. but as you can see from my table there is no direct fileds (called as WS or other billable) that i can divide stright a way. 

much appreciated your help in this regards. 

image.png

In the screenshot in you first post, you have [GA to US], [Idle time], [Non Billable], [Other Billable] and [WS]. What are those? Fields/columns in another table? Measures?

[GA to US], [Idle time], [Non Billable], [Other Billable] and [WS] are the rows underneeth filed [RM]. What i have done is the created