Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Rolling Snapshot Line Chart

I am just learning DAX, and am having trouble with a request at work. I have read some similar posts but still having trouble understanding it to make my own. The topic is creating a Rolling snapshot for the Dates. Unfortunately I cannot upload a sample file. However I will do my best to explain and show what my tables look like. 

I created a Calendar table with CALENDARAUTO(). I then have Month, MonthNum, Qtr, Week, Year columns as shown below: 

Month = FORMAT(DATE(1, [MonthNum], 1), "MMM")
MonthNum = MONTH('Calendar'[Date])
Qtr = "Qtr" & " " & QUARTER('Calendar'[Date])
Week = 1+ WEEKNUM('Calendar'[Date])- WEEKNUM(STARTOFMONTH('Calendar'[Date]))
Year = YEAR('Calendar'[Date])

My data is an a table named 'Invoice'. With columns showing:
Create_Time
Transaction_Date
Due_Date
Total_Amount
Balance

I currently have a Many to 1 relationship between 'Invoice'[Transaction_Date] and 'Calendar'[Date]

I need to create a line chart that only shows the sum of 'Invoice'[Total_Amount] per day for the last 13 weeks. This needs to shift with the current date automatically. 

I also need another line chart with the same data... but showing the average per week, for the last 13 months. This also needs to shift with the current date. 

Date_Relationship.PNG

Calendar_Table.PNGInvoice_Table.PNG

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
WinterMist
Impactful Individual
Impactful Individual

@Anonymous 

Hopefully I am understanding you correctly.

You want to see a line chart for the last 13 weeks, but you want to see the X-axis data points grouped by week (rather than the day)?

If so, then you can take the following steps.

1) Add the Calculated Column "Week Date Starting Monday" to the Invoice Table.