Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

tdjohnson7700
Frequent Visitor

Problems with Rankx skipping numbers

Sample PBIX File Hi–I am fairly new to Power Bi and I am not a programmer. I have searched extensively for this issue.

I have been developing a power bi file to show how different cities relate as to their population size–I have attached my pbix sample file.   The page showing Tjohnson working solution is showing how the visual is at this point–where you select a City, then the 5 cities in population larger than that city and the 5 cities in population below that city are shown, along with the selected city. This is all working–also shown is the Population Rank of each city within the state for the fiscal year selected, the population, total taxes, etc.

What is now the problem is that I have a table called tblCityPopulationByYear–this has a user relationship to the date table since my CitySalesTaxCollections has a direct connection to the date table. For each city, I have taken the census figure and entered the census amount for each month for the year. However, when you are calculating by Fiscal Year–if the census has changed, the amounts change from 1 year to the other. See examples below for City 101

City 101 FY 2021.png

In this case–the monthly population amounts for months 7/1/2020-6/30/2021 do not change, therefore the average population is the same as the population for each month. When this is the case, the chart works correctly as shown below.

city 101 5 above 5 below fy 2021.png

However, on the fiscal years where the census has changed, it is not working correctly. See below for City 101 for Fiscal Year for months 7/1/2017-6/30/2018

City 101 fy 2018.png

On this page–the average population is calculating correctly. However, when placed on the chart for 5 up and 5 down, this is what happens.