Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

selimovd
Super User
Super User

Performance with many SWITCH or IFs slow. Is there a solution with good performance?

Hello everyone,

I have a kind of complex scenario and don't really know how I can solve that with appropriate performance.

I have a master measure that is, depending on a slicer, calculating a different output. With a "basic" selection it's calculating the sum of the value column, if the user is chosing a "corrected" value in the slicer it's adding the corrected values and if the user is chosing "normed" then it's adding the normed values to the basic values.
This works perfectly.

This master measure is the base measure for all of my other calculations. For example my [Sales] measure or [Sales PY] or [Budget] or [Budget PY]. Also this works perfectly.

Every measure has a good performance on its own (max 250ms, usually around 15-150 ms)

My problems start now at the last stage.

measures.png

My customer wants 15 different comparisons for each measurement in one measure. He wants to select the comparison in a slicer, for example "Actual vs. Budget" or "Actual vs. Forecast 1", "Actual vs. Actual PY", "Budget vs. Budget PY", etc.
Then the measure should calculate the correct value.

The approach was to calculate that with a SWITCH, what in general also works. But it's really slow as SWITCH seems to calculate all 15 comparisons.

The problem is that the customer wants to show multiple of these comparisons in one visual. For example one for sales amount, one for number products sold, one for contribution margin 1, one for contribution margin 2, etc.