Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Ahenshaw
Frequent Visitor

Percent Change DAX calculation issue

Hello, I am new to Power BI and DAX. I am looking to calculate the percent change based on slicers that allow a user to select a starting date and end date. What I need is for the percent change to by dynamic based on the selected start date. Meaning, if you are looking at Jan 2015 through June 2015, Jan 2015 should be at 0% and then Feb would be the percent change from Feb to Jan, March to Jan, April to Jan, May to Jan, and then June to Jan. (not month to month but months displayed divided by first month selected)

My DAX code is below and for 90% of the data points this works but for January 2009 (my first dates in the data set) the percent change should be at 0 since it has nothing to compare to and yet they are not. Additionally, somewhere in 2019, the issue comes up again that if you filter to October 2019, the October data points should display 0% but not all do.

Percent (%) Change from Selected Start Date by Index = 

var minValue = CALCULATE(MIN('Index Data'[Index Value]),ALLSELECTED('Index Data'[Date]))

return

DIVIDE(FIRSTNONBLANK('Index Data'[Index Value],'Index Data'[Index Value]), minValue,0)-1

Ahenshaw_0-1634316024703.png

I also tried the below DAX to no avail. Any help to acheive the final result would be greatly appreciated. 

I should mention, all th eindecies are on different scales and I don't want the RLB index to calculate based off Turner. They should specifically look at the value of that particular index, subtract the first value in that particular index (based on slicer date) and then divide by that first value [(current value, first value)/first value]

Percent (%) Change from Selected Start Date by Index =