Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Overlaying a bell curve on a histogram using DAX

Hi all! Noob here, so apologize if a similar thread already exists! 🙂 

I'm stuck with the following issue:
As you can see in the 1st pic. below I've plotted a histogram using a line & clustered chart. So far, all good.
Now if try to plot the Gaussian Distribution on the same graph, I get errors saying there needs to be a relationship between the columns.
I tried linking my "f(values)" column from the "UTS ND" table to the calculated column of "Start" from my "UTS filtering" table as it seemed the logical thing to do using a 1 to Many relationship, but the program doesn't allow because of a circular dependency.
Had anyone else experienced a similar issue before? If so, how did you manage to overcome it?
This is a job-related task that I've been struggling with for the past few days & I've ran out of ideas. :'(
Thank you for every little bit of information!
P1 - The original graphP1 - The original graph

P2 - the calculated params. for the Gaussian distributionP2 - the calculated params. for the Gaussian distribution

P3 - the desired outputP3 - the desired output

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
mahoneypat
Employee
Employee

I looked at your pbix.  I think the best way to do this is to add another calculated column to your Number Filtering 2 table to calculate the normal distribution value for that range using an expression like this one.

NormDist =
VAR avgval = ( 'Number filtering 2'[Start] + 'Number filtering 2'[End] ) / 2
VAR mean =
    AVERAGE ( 'D4142 0,75 inch 2020'[UTS Values] )
VAR std =
    STDEV.P ( 'D4142 0,75 inch 2020'[UTS Values] )
VAR nd =
    NORM.DIST ( avgval, mean, std, 0 )
RETURN
    nd

You can then add that to your visual to get the below.