Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Earn the coveted Fabric Analytics Engineer certification. 100% off your exam for a limited time only!

MattGell
Advocate I
Advocate I

Next future travel reservation per person

Hello,

can anybody please help with something I know is simple but I'm fairly new to DAX and I'm not finding it very intuitive.

I have 2 tables table1 called "AVI_USER" with people with unique "UserID" as primary key. Table 2 is for reservations for those people called "AVI_RES_PAX". the start dates of the reservations are stored in "AVI_RES_PAX[REQ_FROM_DT]". Each person could have many reservations into the future but I just want the next one (>TODAY) for each transport mode.

Reservations can be for different modes of transport as distinguished in "AVI_RES_PAX[REQ_MODE]". (Fixed Wing or Rotary Wing)

I simply want columns for the next reservation date for each mode per person and columns to show the origin and destination.

Desired result below:

UserID    NextFixedWingDate Origin Destination NextRotaryWingDate Origin Destination

NM001     01-Sep-20              LHR     GIG               31-Aug-20                FTS      ABZ

NM002     10-Oct-20              CDG    HOU              01-Nov-20               PPA     ABZ

NM002     20-Aug-20             LOS     JOB                                                

I know it looks simple but I just cant get it

Please help

Matt

4 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
CC182

Hi, 

1. Create a new column in Table 2: "Future Date" = if([Reservation start date] - TODAY()>0,"Y","N")

2. Create a Matrix visualization as follows: 

- Rows: UserID

- Columns: Mode

- Values: 'Earliest' Reservation start date --> 'First' Origin --> First 'Destination

- FIlters: (i) Future Date = Y; (ii) Top 1 UserID by Earliest Reservation start date

Hope that was what you were looking for!

View solution in original post

Anonymous
Not applicable

@MattGell  Create a measure as shown below.