Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

LNNRTS

Need help: Adding a category to duplicates based on a previous categorization.

Hey there,
disclaimer: I'm a total newbie to DAX, quite experienced with excel but I thought it's time to automate my data via power pivot (Excel not PowerBI) 😅

I have two tables. "projects" is listing every manager and the projects they're working on. Another table "managers" listing every manager just once incl. further info such as if he's a "top" manager. In the end, I would like to filter my pivot table to show me every project where a "top" manager is NOT involved. As I understand it right, I have to add the information to the main "projects" Table. First I did a simple lookup in the "Projects" table based on the "Managers" table. But now I have to add the info to every row with a project having a "top" manager involved, as shown below in the desired "inclTopMgmt" collum. The original data is much more complex so that there a 100k of "projects".

Glad for every kind of help/hints etc. Thanks in advance!

Projects table with the desired "inclTopMgmt" collum:
Manager         Projects      Lookup(Managers)       inclTopMgmt
A                       PA                                                    true
A                       PB
B                       PA               top                                true
B                       PC               top                                true
C                       PA                                                    true

Managers Table:
Manager       Status
A                   
B                    top
C

2 REPLIES 2
LNNRTS

Hey @Jihwan_Kim,