Skip to main content
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Register now to learn Fabric in free live sessions led by the best Microsoft experts. From Apr 16 to May 9, in English and Spanish.

mclawler
Helper II
Helper II

MoM % Variance

Hi Everybody, first post, I am a rookie at this stuff and for the life of me can't seem to figure out the correct DAX for MoM % Variance.  I'm self-taught and done pretty well so far, but I must be missing something simple and making a rookie mistake on this one.  All I am trying to achieve, is to show how much the Balance went up(or down) from one month to the next.  I'm sure I am way over-thinking it, logic tells me I need to use the sum of Balance filtered by the Month(date) and divide that by the sum of balance for previous month.  Please advise, and thank you this forum has been by far my most valuable resource thus far. 

mclawler_0-1675900956804.png

I have more detailed tables as well, but for this specific visual I am literally only using this table I created for summary and simplicity

mclawler_1-1675901219354.png

mclawler_0-1675902454871.png

5 REPLIES 5
mclawler
Helper II
Helper II

Figured it out with the builtin Quick Measure suggestions, I thought since it was showing me an error it wasn't working, but the calculations appear to be correct regardless of the error.  Thanks everyone 

Exposure Balance MoM% =
IF(
    ISFILTERED('Exposure Balance Monthly'[Snapshot Month]),
    ERROR("Time intelligence quick measures can only be grouped or filtered by the Power BI-provided date hierarchy or primary date column."),
    VAR __PREV_MONTH =
        CALCULATE(
            SUM('Exposure Balance Monthly'[Exposure Balance]),
            DATEADD('Exposure Balance Monthly'[Snapshot Month].[Date], -1, MONTH)
        )
    RETURN
        DIVIDE(
            SUM('Exposure Balance Monthly'[Exposure Balance]) - __PREV_MONTH,
            __PREV_MONTH
        )
)

mclawler_0-1675978998261.png

v-xinruzhu-msft